What We Get Wrong about Cellulite

The reason why skinny women still have to deal with cellulite

Alexandra Iulia Soare
3 min readAug 21, 2020

--

Since the 1980 study on cardiovascular diseases, fat became the public enemy. It was later proved that the study was incorrect, but it was too late: fat will have forever a bad reputation.

I think I spent more time as a dietitian defending fat rather than discussing other topics. One thing that came up recently was cellulite. One of my clients wanted to lose weight in order to get rid of cellulite. And there I was again … defending fat. How can you explain this? Very fit women like ballerinas or professional athletes still have cellulite. How can it be fat’s fault? I am here to share with you the answer to this question and what I’ve learned after digging for months in scientific studies.

What is cellulite?

Cellulite is the way three elements interact with each other. These elements are:

  • fat cells
  • skin
  • lymphatic system

One cannot solve it all

--

--

Alexandra Iulia Soare

Hi 🙋I am a food scientist! Do you want to eat healthier, but you don’t know where to start? Begin here: https://food-on-mars.com/work